Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

A Fuller Life

with 10 comments

I’m pleased to announce that I’ve finally figured out the subject of my next book, which will be a biography of the architect and futurist Buckminster Fuller. If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you probably know how much Fuller means to me, and I’m looking forward to giving him the comprehensive portrait that he deserves. (Honestly, that’s putting it mildly. I’ve known for over a week that I’ll have a chance to tackle this project, and I still can’t quite believe that it’s really happening. And I’m especially happy that my current publisher has agreed to give me a shot at it.) At first glance, this might seem like a departure from my previous work, but it presents an opportunity to explore some of the same themes from a different angle, and to explore how they might play out in the real world. The timelines of the two projects largely coincide, with a group of subjects who were affected by the Great Depression, World War II, the Cold War, and the social upheavals of the sixties. All of them had highly personal notions about the fate of America, and Fuller used physical artifacts much as Campbell, Asimov, and Heinlein employed science fiction—to prepare their readers for survival in an era of perpetual change. Fuller’s wife, Anne, played an unsung role in his career that recalls many of the women in Astounding. Like Campbell, he approached psychology as a category of physics, and he hoped to turn the prediction of future trends into a science in itself. His skepticism of governments led him to conclude that society should be changed through design, not political institutions, and like many science fiction writers, he acted as if all disciplines could be reduced to subsets of engineering. And for most of his life, he insisted that complicated social problems could be solved through technology.

Most of his ideas were expressed through the geodesic dome, the iconic work of structural design that made him famous—and I hope that this book will be as much about the dome as about Fuller himself. It became a universal symbol of the space age, and his reputation as a futurist may have been founded largely on the fact that his most recognizable achievement instantly evoked the landscape of science fiction. From the beginning, the dome was both an elegant architectural conceit and a potent metaphor. The concept of a hemispherical shelter that used triangular elements to enclose the maximum amount of space had been explored by others, but Fuller was the first to see it as a vehicle for social change. With design principles that could be scaled up or down without limitation, it could function as a massive commercial pavilion or as a house for hippies. (Ken Kesey dreamed of building a geodesic dome to hold one of his acid tests.) It could be made out of plywood, steel, or cardboard. A dome could be cheaply assembled by hand by amateur builders, which encouraged experimentation, and its specifications could be laid out in a few pages and shared for free, like the modern blueprints for printable houses. It was a hackable, open-source machine for living that reflected a set of tools that spoke to the same men and women who were teaching themselves how to code. As I noted here recently, a teenager named Jaron Lanier, who was living in a tent with his father on an acre of desert in New Mexico, used nothing but the formulas in Lloyd Kahn’s Domebook to design and build a house that he called “Earth Station Lanier.” Lanier, who became renowned years later as the founder of virtual reality, never got over the experience. He recalled decades later: “I loved the place; dreamt about it while sleeping inside it.”

During his lifetime, Fuller was one of the most famous men in America, and he managed to become an idol to both the establishment and the counterculture. In the three decades since his death, his reputation has faded, but his legacy is visible everywhere. The influence of his geodesic structures can be seen in the Houston Astrodome, at Epcot Center, on thousands of playgrounds, in the dome tents favored by backpackers, and in the emergency shelters used after Hurricane Katrina. Fuller had a lasting impact on environmentalism and design, and his interest in unconventional forms of architecture laid the foundation for the alternative housing movement. His homegrown system of geometry led to insights into the biological structure of viruses and the logic of communications networks, and after he died, he was honored by the discoverers of a revolutionary form of carbon that resembled a geodesic sphere, which became known as fullerene, or the buckyball. And I’m particularly intrigued by his parallels to the later generation of startup founders. During the seventies, he was a hero to the likes of Steve Wozniak and Steve Jobs, who later featured him prominently in the first “Think Different” commercial, and he was the prototype of the Silicon Valley types who followed. He was a Harvard dropout who had been passed over by the college’s exclusive social clubs, and despite his lack of formal training, he turned himself into an entrepreneur who believed in changing society through innovative products and environmental design. Fuller wore the same outfit to all his public appearances, and his personal habits amounted to an early form of biohacking. (Fuller slept each day for just a few hours, taking a nap whenever he felt tired, and survived mostly on steak and tea.) His closest equivalent today may well be Elon Musk, which tells us a lot about both men.

And this project is personally significant to me. I first encountered Fuller through The Whole Earth Catalog, which opened its first edition with two pages dedicated to his work, preceded by a statement from editor Stewart Brand: “The insights of Buckminster Fuller initiated this catalog.” I was three years old when he died, and I grew up in the shadow of his influence in the Bay Area. The week before my freshman year in high school, I bought a used copy of his book Critical Path, and I tried unsuccessfully to plow through Synergetics. (At the time, this all felt kind of normal, and it’s only when I look back that it seems strange—which tells you a lot about me, too.) Above all else, I was drawn to his reputation as the ultimate generalist, which reflected my idea of what my life should be, and I’m hugely excited by the prospect of returning to him now. Fuller has been the subject of countless other works, but never a truly authoritative biography, which is a project that meets both Susan Sontag’s admonition that a writer should try to be useful and the test that I stole from Lin-Manuel Miranda: “What’s the thing that’s not in the world that should be in the world?” Best of all, the process looks to be tremendously interesting for its own sake—I think it’s going to rewire my brain. It also requires an unbelievable amount of research. To apply the same balanced, fully sourced, narrative approach to his life that I tried to take for Campbell, I’ll need to work through all of Fuller’s published work, a mountain of primary sources, and what might literally be the largest single archive for any private individual in history. I know from experience that I can’t do it alone, and I’m looking forward to seeking help from the same kind of brain trust that I was lucky to have for Astounding. Those of you who have stuck with this blog should be prepared to hear a lot more about Fuller over the next three years, but I wouldn’t be doing this at all if I didn’t think that you might find it interesting. And who knows? He might change your life, too.

Written by nevalalee

November 16, 2018 at 8:50 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, Alec, congrats! This is very exciting. I always think of a certain person when I read about Fuller – one of my best friends built a dome in his attic to use as his office and came very close to convincing his wife to let them name their son Buckminster Fuller [Lastname]. I look forward to following your journey!

    Neil Shurley (@ThatNeilGuy)

    November 16, 2018 at 10:40 am

  2. @Neil Shurley: Thanks, Neil! Fuller definitely has a way of drawing a certain kind of person—including me, I guess.

    nevalalee

    November 16, 2018 at 10:42 am

  3. Great and exciting news, Alec! Funnily enough, I have been, as a reader of your book(s) and blog, wanting to suggest a topic for your next book project. It would have been a biography of…Tom Cruise! Don’t laugh, I think there’s a need for non-sensationalist, intellectual books on celebrities and it would certainly be — because of its subject — at least a very well-selling book, especially since Tom’s 60th birthday is (in terms of book-planning) almost on the horizon :-)

    FrF

    November 16, 2018 at 5:37 pm

  4. @FrF: Believe it or not, it’s occurred to me, too!

    nevalalee

    November 16, 2018 at 5:55 pm

  5. Wow, I hope you don’t forget the TC idea and keep a certain amount of enthusiasm for it. I really think you could pull off another squaring of the circle with his biography: A thinking person’s bestseller!

    FrF

    November 16, 2018 at 6:32 pm

  6. I think your publisher would be wise to convince you to make a pop-up book of Bucky.

    (You could also engineer a page in a TC bio where he pops up on Oprah’s couch.)

    I don’t know Alec. Fuller’s wife, Anne, played an unsung role in his career that recalls many of the women in Astounding. Like Campbell, Bucky approached psychology as a category of physics, and he hoped to turn the prediction of future trends into a science in itself…

    Intratrade. John Delaney.
    Remember him?

    Ben Turpin

    November 16, 2018 at 8:19 pm

  7. Congratulations! I have complete faith that if you made it through all of Hubbard’s fiction, you can get through all of Fuller’s dry cleaning bills (which may prove interesting, given his sartorial choices).

    Nat

    November 16, 2018 at 11:56 pm

  8. Hi

    Congratulations! I think you are perfectly suited to look at the intersection of science, technology and what would become some of the most iconic ideas and structures in futurism and science fiction. It does sound like a tremendous amount of work and I wish you well.

    Guy

    Guy

    November 17, 2018 at 10:28 am

  9. I’m very excited to learn of this bio, thanks to the NYT’s obituary for Shoji Sadao. My uncle William Wainwright was a principle at Geometrics, and he had many a Fuller tale. Over the years I’ve increasingly come to see Fuller as a “solutionist” more interested in an answer than really understanding a problem, yet he’s part of my mental life for good I think. Can’t wait for this to come out!

    Casey Mack

    November 24, 2019 at 6:36 pm

  10. I’m glad you found me! If you ever feel like talking about your uncle—or have any family stories to share—I’d love to connect sometime. He’s a very interesting figure in his own right, and I’m hoping to learn more about him.

    nevalalee

    November 24, 2019 at 8:09 pm


Leave a comment