Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

The books and the wall

with 10 comments

Yesterday, I published an essay titled “Asimov’s Empire, Asimov’s Wall” on the website Public Books, in which I discuss Isaac Asimov’s history of groping and engaging in other forms of unwanted touching with women at conventions, in the workplace, and in private over the course of many decades. It’s a piece that I’ve had in mind for a long time, and I’ve come to think of it as a lost chapter of Astounding, which I might well have included in the book if I had delivered the final draft a few months later than I actually did. (I’m also very glad that the article includes the image reproduced above, which I found after going through thousands of photos in the Jay Kay Klein archive.) The response online so far has been overwhelming, including numerous firsthand accounts of his behavior, and I hope it leads to more stories about Asimov, as well as others. There’s a lot that I deliberately didn’t cover here, and it deserves to be taken further in the right hands.

Written by nevalalee

January 8, 2020 at 7:30 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Read it from FB. Thanks for publishing this article

    DGM

    January 8, 2020 at 7:34 am

  2. That was a really good piece of writing. Congratulations on getting it published. Maybe it can be included in a future printing of your book Astounding.

    Benjamin David Steele

    January 8, 2020 at 8:36 am

  3. I hope it will be!

    nevalalee

    January 8, 2020 at 10:11 am

  4. I saw Mr. Asimov behave in this manner during the 1970s.

    W. Master

    January 9, 2020 at 11:50 am

  5. This is one of the best articles I’ve ever read. Thank you so much for writing it. The section about his behavior undermining creative young women and discouraging their continued engagement is such an important lesson for everyday life and every professional field. It feels too familiar.

    Aaron Miller

    January 9, 2020 at 9:15 pm

  6. Thanks so much!

    nevalalee

    January 9, 2020 at 9:24 pm

  7. I can’t Raymond F. Jones’s Noise Level in paperback anywhere. Is it only available as an e-book?

    Shawn Vandegenachte

    March 8, 2020 at 9:37 am

  8. Good question! It hasn’t been as widely anthologized or reprinted as you might expect:

    http://www.isfdb.org/cgi-bin/title.cgi?55972

    Your best bet might be to find it in a used copy of The Astounding/Analog Reader, a great collection, which is where I first read it.

    nevalalee

    March 8, 2020 at 12:16 pm

  9. When visiting blogs, i generally discover an excellent content just like yours.
    Excellent job on this post! I love how you presented your facts and the way you
    made it appealing and clear to understand. Thanks a lot.

    Horo

    May 28, 2020 at 2:09 pm

  10. A nice birthday gift!!
    What a trendy snowflake…Boring!💤💤💤

    Christine

    November 1, 2020 at 2:25 pm


Leave a comment