Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

Burrowing into The Tunnel

with 3 comments

Last fall, it occurred to me that someone should write an essay on the parallels between the novel The Tunnel by William H. Gass, which was published in 1995, and the contemporary situation in America. Since nobody else seemed to be doing it, I figured that it might as well be me, although it was a daunting project even to contemplate—Gass’s novel is over six hundred pages long and famously impenetrable, and I knew that doing it justice would take at least three weeks of work. Yet it seemed like something that had to exist, so I wrote it up at the end of last year. For various reasons, it took a long time to see print, but it’s finally out now in the New York Times Book Review. It isn’t the kind of thing that I normally do, but it felt like a necessary piece, and I’m pretty proud of how it turned out. And if the intervening seven months don’t seem to have dated it at all, it only puts me in mind of what the radio host on The Simpsons once said about the DJ 3000 computer: “How does it keep up with the news like that?”

Written by nevalalee

July 12, 2019 at 2:35 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. its so many novel are here wicth i chose

    nicholasonline13

    July 12, 2019 at 7:41 pm

  2. I’m gonna go there and check it out. Thanks!

    Andrea Kenner

    July 19, 2019 at 5:49 pm

  3. how long i must read about novel take it on serious point

    nicholasonline13

    July 21, 2019 at 12:40 pm


Leave a comment