Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

A poet’s routine: A.E. Housman

with one comment

Having drunk a pint of beer at luncheon—beer is a sedative to the brain, and my afternoons are the least intellectual portion of my life—I would go out for a walk of two or three hours. As I went along, thinking of nothing in particular, only looking at things around me and following the progress of the seasons, there would flow into my mind, with sudden and unaccountable emotion, sometimes a line or two of verse, sometimes a whole stanza at once, accompanied, not preceded, by a vague notion of the poem which they were destined to form part of. Then there would usually be a lull of an hour or so, then perhaps the spring would bubble up again. I say bubble up, because, so far as I could make out, the source of the suggestions thus proffered to the brain was an abyss which I have already had occasion to mention, the pit of the stomach. When I got home I wrote them down, leaving gaps, and hoping that further inspiration might be forthcoming another day. Sometimes it was, if I took my walks in a receptive and expectant frame of mind, but sometimes the poem had to be taken in hand and completed by the brain, which was apt to be a matter of trouble and anxiety, involving trial and disappointment, and sometimes ending in failure. I happen to remember distinctly the genesis of the piece which stands last in my first volume. Two of the stanzas, I do not say which, came into my head, just as they are printed, while I was crossing the corner of Hampstead Heath between the Spaniard’s Inn and the footpath to Temple Fortune. A third stanza came with a little coaxing after tea. One more was needed, but it did not come: I had to turn to and compose it myself, and that was a laborious business. I wrote it thirteen times, and it was more than a twelvemonth before I got it right.

A.E. Housman, “The Name and Nature of Poetry”

Written by nevalalee

April 30, 2011 at 7:34 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Two of the stanzas, I do not say which, came into my head…while I was crossing the corner of Hampstead Heath between the Spaniard’s Inn and the footpath to Temple Fortune.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Temple_Fortune

    …A third stanza came with a little coaxing after tea…

    I’m going to make a cup right now!

    http://www.davidstea.com/green-tea-1/artisan-flowers

    Arthur

    April 30, 2011 at 12:08 pm


Leave a comment