Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

Quote of the Day

with 2 comments

Damon Knight

While was writing “Backward, O Time”…I made an important discovery. Working my way through the scenes of the story in order, I came to one that would not write. I decided to skip it and come back to it later, and wrote the rest of the scenes in any order that occurred to me, leaving out anything that I didn’t feel like writing. Then I cut the pages apart and rearranged them on the cot in my office, meaning to see what was missing and supply it. Lo, it was all there.

Damon Knight, The Best of Damon Knight

Written by nevalalee

December 27, 2016 at 7:30 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting! I suppose it depends why one stalls on writing something, but… if I don’t want to write it, maybe no one would want to read it.

    Morgan Hazelwood

    December 27, 2016 at 12:16 pm

  2. @Morgan Hazelwood: Maybe that’s the lesson!

    nevalalee

    January 4, 2017 at 8:01 pm


Leave a Reply

