Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

Quote of the Day

leave a comment »

Odalisque With a Turkish Chair by Henri Matisse

I have never tried to play chess, although friends who think they understand me well have recommended it to me. I answered them, “I cannot play with symbols that never change. These bishops, kings, queens, castles, tell me nothing. But if you used figurines like [people we knew], then I could play.” But during the course of each game I would invent a symbol for each pawn.

Henri Matisse, “Testimonial”

Written by nevalalee

September 14, 2016 at 7:30 am

Posted in Quote of the Day

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

