Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

Quote of the Day

with 3 comments

Joseph Conrad

And I write! I write! I write! Certainly. Write quick. Not quick enough to make up for the frightful leeway. But I write…The more I write the less substance do I see in my work. The scales are falling off my eyes. It is tolerably awful. And I face it, I face it but the fright is growing on me. My fortitude is shaken by the view of the monster. It does not move; its eyes are baleful; it is as still as death itself—and it will devour me. Its stare has eaten into my soul already deep, deep. I am alone with it in a chasm with perpendicular sides of black basalt. Never were sides so perpendicular and smooth, and high.

Joseph Conrad, in a letter to Edward Garnett

Written by nevalalee

May 10, 2016 at 7:30 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This quote is compelling on many ideals and thoughts.

    imartsyblog

    May 10, 2016 at 8:59 am

  2. I agree with this guy!

    imartsyblog

    May 10, 2016 at 9:00 am

  3. Me too!

    imartsyblog

    May 10, 2016 at 9:00 am


Leave a Reply

