Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

Quote of the Day

leave a comment »

Cesare Zavattini

With regard to my own work, the characters and situations in films for which I have written the scenario, they remain unresolved from a practical point of view simply because “this is reality.” But every moment of the film is, in itself, a continuous answer to some question. It is not the concern of an artist to propound solutions. It is enough, and quite a lot, I should say, to make an audience feel the need, the urgency, for them…In films which do not touch me directly, also, when I am called in to do a certain amount of work on them, I try to insert as much as possible of my own world, of the moral emergencies within myself.

Cesare Zavattini, “Some Ideas on the Cinema”

Written by nevalalee

May 9, 2016 at 7:30 am

Leave a Reply

