Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

Quote of the Day

with 3 comments

Serge Koussevitzky

You must conduct your lives in such a way that when you come out on the stage to lead your orchestra you can truthfully say to yourself: “Yes, I have the right to appear before these lovers of good music. They can watch me without shame. I have the right because my life and my work are clean.”

Serge Koussevitzky, quoted in Time

Written by nevalalee

February 25, 2016 at 7:30 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Since music begins where words fail to communicate, as a conductor, I have always felt that my first and most important responsibility was to faithfully and with utmost precision to interpret the story and emotional content of the composer’s intent in as unobtrusive and unpretentious way as possible for the benefit of the listener. I don’t think that a musical performance needs to be a spectator sport. Many well known conductors regularly miss the mark on both counts.

    galtz

    February 25, 2016 at 1:09 pm

  2. @galtz: Thanks for your perspective! I always hoped a real conductor would show up in the comments one day.

    nevalalee

    March 13, 2016 at 8:08 pm

  3. You’re welcome.

    galtz

    March 15, 2016 at 4:44 pm


Leave a Reply

