Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

“Objective, objective, objective!”

leave a comment »

Madeleine George

Some playwrights come from poetry and they get in through image, and some come from acting and they get in through action or objective. I have a vivid memory of being in my acting class in college and being up there in the middle of an improv and feeling language just kind of volleying forth from me and my acting teacher standing at the back of the room as I was trying to improv the scene, shouting: “Objective, Objective, Objective!” I come at it from a delight in the surface topography of language as spoken by human beings. I think I can safely say that that is my entry point into plays.

Madeleine George, to Playwrights Horizons

Written by nevalalee

January 17, 2016 at 8:45 am

Leave a Reply

