Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

Quote of the Day

leave a comment »

Jon Robin Baitz

Unfortunately in order for there to be a plot, there has to be action, and action usually involves someone wanting something, or suppressing a want until there is some sort of explosion. I like extreme behavior in characters, because I find it so discomfiting in real life. A character is a kind of extension of your own appetites and revulsions, choices and conclusions. I find it impossible to live in extremes, but I do like examining my various modes of denial, and that’s a way in for me. I think it’s useful advice for emerging dramatists—what is the character in denial about? If you can answer that, you can decode their central nervous systems.

Jon Robin Baitz, to Los Angeles Review of Books

Written by nevalalee

January 14, 2016 at 7:30 am

Leave a Reply

