Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

Quote of the Day

leave a comment »

Doug Wright

I am a passionate devotee of narrative. I think that storytelling has fallen out of fashion, and yet I think it’s one of the most fundamental ways we communicate with one another. I tell my students at NYU that if something funny happened to you at nine in the morning, you test fly it over the water cooler, you’ve evolved it into a pretty funny joke at brunch, and by dinnertime you’ve created an epic. It’s how we communicate our experience, by building narrative. I still think it’s a critical and indispensable part of playwriting.

Doug Wright, to Playbill

Written by nevalalee

January 4, 2016 at 7:30 am

Leave a Reply

