Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

The Rite of Stravinsky

with 3 comments

Igor Stravinsky

For me as a creative musician, composition is a daily function that I feel compelled to discharge. I compose because I am made for that and cannot do otherwise…I am far from saying that there is no such thing as inspiration…Work brings inspiration if inspiration is not discernible in the beginning.

I stumble across something unexpected. This unexpected element strikes me. I make a note of it. At the proper time, I put it to profitable use.

What fascinated me most of all in [Petrushka] was that the different rhythmic episodes were dictated by the fingers themselves…Fingers are not to be despised; they are great inspirers and, in contact with a musical instrument, often give birth to unconscious ideas which might otherwise never come to life.

I would go on eternally revising my music were I not too busy composing more of it.

I am the first to recognize that daring is the motive force of the finest and greatest artist. I approve of daring; I set no limits to it.

Igor Stravinsky

Written by nevalalee

December 24, 2015 at 7:30 am

Posted in Quote of the Day

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. aphoetroy

    December 25, 2015 at 9:37 am

  2. I find the same is true for me when I write. When I have no inspiration, I pick up where I left off with something or I start editing or revising something and then the inspiration starts to flow, not always easily, and often it’s just a trickle, but it does flow. Likewise I feel the daily compulsion to write and if I do not write on a day, I feel uneasy until I can sit and focus on writing once again. Sometimes I think I would be perfectly happy if I could do nothing else, but sit in a café or coffee shop for the rest of my life and write in my notebook. But then, how would I get ideas for stories if I do not go out and experience life? Isn’t imagination rooted in experience? Without experience, how could my stories have any depth? Transmitting my experience with the world through my writing is what gives my stories depth and breadth and establishes a connection between myself and the reader as the reader recognizes shared experiences, feelings, and thought processes.

    phil795

    December 25, 2015 at 7:35 pm

  3. Being able to pick up right where you left off is one of the most crucial skills for any writer to master.

    nevalalee

    January 10, 2016 at 8:53 pm


Leave a Reply

