Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, creativity, and the writing life.

Quote of the Day

with 3 comments

Harlan Ellison

If the truth be told, I think it is just as noble and in fact probably a lot nobler to be a good plumber [than a writer]. Because I’ve done seventy books, people go, “God, you’re so prolific.” And I say, “What do you mean prolific? I’ve been doing it for forty-two years, and I’ve done seventy books. That’s what I do. It’s a full time job. If I were a plumber, and I had unclogged ten thousand toilets, would you say to me, ‘You’re a prolific plumber?'” No, people just don’t equate the two, but I gotta tell you, when your toilet overflows, you do not need Dostoyevsky to come into your house.

Harlan Ellison

Written by nevalalee

August 19, 2015 at 6:57 am

Posted in Quote of the Day, Writing

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha
    Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless handheld from Glo Mobile.

    davidfelixlia

    August 19, 2015 at 7:01 am

  2. LOL! I don’t know though, I’ve heard Dostoyevsky could wield a mean plunger.

    domingosaurus

    August 19, 2015 at 8:16 am

  3. I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Awards :) https://writingeverywhichway.wordpress.com/2015/08/19/sunshine-blogger-award/

    madiuram

    August 19, 2015 at 1:58 pm


Leave a Reply

